Recommended Web Sites for Language Learning

HOME

Sites for French Sites for German Sites for Other Languages

 

Categories of Sites for English

Business English General Interactive Grammar Exercises Grammar Tutorials
Just for Fun English Learning Sites for Spanish Speakers Listening Practice General News
General Video General Reading Research Role-Playing Games
Teacher Resources Text and Voice Chat TOEFL Practice Vocabulary
Writing and Composition/Rhetoric Comprehensive Sites    

 

Business English

One_Stop_English_Business_and_ESP http://www.onestopenglish.com/section.asp?docid=144569

EnglishClub.com - Business English http://www.englishclub.com/business-english/index.htm
Monster.com - Job Search Basics http://content.monster.com/basics/
E. L. Easton http://eleaston.com/biz/home.html
Better English - Business http://www.better-english.com/vocabulary.htm
Purdue Univ. OWL - Business Writing http://owl.english.purdue.edu/workshops/pp/index.html#business

General Interactive

Frappr- Create a Map http://www.frappr.com/c/user/createamap
i-Village Quiz Central
http://www.ivillage.co.uk/quizcentral
Jung-Myers-Briggs Personality Test http://www.humanmetrics.com/cgi-win/JTypes1.htm
Quiz Central http://www.eslcafe.com/quiz/
Cybertown http://www.cybertown.com/main_ieframes.html
USDA-Pyramid Dietary Assessment http://www.mypyramidtracker.gov/login.aspx

Grammar Exercises

Basic

MES-Games http://www.marks-english-school.com/games.html
Better English - Easier
http://www.better-english.com/easier.htm
Verb Tense Tutorial http://www.englishpage.com/verbpage/verbtenseintro.html
Super Quiz Machine http://www.manythings.org/c/r.cgi/quiz
Mad Libs on the Web http://us.penguingroup.com/static/packages/us/yreaders/madlibs/fun.html

Intermediate

ESL Blues
http://ww2.college-em.qc.ca/prof/epritchard/trouindx.htm
330 Grammar Topics http://web2.uvcs.uvic.ca/elc/studyzone/330/grammar/index.htm

Advanced

Purdue OWL - ESL and Punctuation Exercises http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/interact/

Multi-level

SMIC Interactive Exercises http://www.smic.be/smic5022/Onlineexercises.htm
Internet TESL Journal - Grammar Exercises http://a4esl.org/q/j/
EFL Net http://www.eflnet.com/grammar/
English Learner http://www.englishlearner.com/tests/test.html

Grammar Tutorials

onestopenglish.com - Grammar Reference http://www.onestopenglish.com/section.asp?sectionType=listsummary&catid=58093&docid=153812
Grammar Safari http://www.iei.uiuc.edu/student_grammarsafari.html

Just For Fun

The Speech Accent Archive (Native and Non-Native English) http://accent.gmu.edu/browse_atlas.php
Momma Said http://www.mommasaid.net/
Mad Libs on the Web http://us.penguingroup.com/static/packages/us/yreaders/madlibs/fun.html
Virtual Tourist http://www.virtualtourist.com/
Overheard in the Office http://overheardintheoffice.com
Cupcake Wars http://www.astro.ufl.edu/~levine/Cupcake_Wars.html
About: Famous Groundhogs http://pittsburgh.about.com/cs/famousgroundhogs/

English Learning Sites for Spanish Speakers

Fiesta http://www.geocities.com/suzkeadie/FIESTA.html
Tips for Spanish Speakers who are learning English http://www.angelfire.com/fl/espanglishtips/
English Spanish Link http://www.englishspanishlink.com/grammar%20guide.htm
Pumarosa http://www.pumarosa.com/
Sheraton English http://www.shertonenglish.com/

Listening Practice

Basic

 
Randall's ESL Cyber-listening Lab http://www.esl-lab.com/
E.L. Easton - Listening http://eleaston.com/listening.html
About.com - Beginner Listening Exercises http://esl.about.com/library/courses/blcourses_beginner_listening.htm

Intermediate

Interactive Online Listening Assistant http://iola.cityu.edu.hk/
About.com - Low Intermedate Listening Exercises http://esl.about.com/library/courses/blcourses_lower_intermediate_listening.htm
ELLLO http://www.elllo.org/
E.L. Easton - Listening http://eleaston.com/listening.html
Randall's ESL Cyber-listening Lab http://www.esl-lab.com/

Advanced

Randall's ESL Cyber-listening Lab http://www.esl-lab.com/
E.L. Easton - Listening http://eleaston.com/listening.html
Internet Archive http://www.archive.org/index.php

General News

BBC Learning English - News English http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learningenglish/newsenglish/index.shtml
Breaking News English http://www.breakingnewsenglish.com/
CNN News Videos http://edition.cnn.com/video/index.html
Listen to CBC News Radio http://www.cbc.ca/listen/index.html
NPR Radio http://www.npr.org/
Family Health News Radio http://www.fhradio.org/

General Video

CNN Videos http://edition.cnn.com/help/video/
You Tube http://www.youtube.com/
Adeaters http://www.adeater.com/
English Trailers http://www.english-trailers.com/index.php
Stupid Videos http://www.stupidvideos.com

General Reading

   

Basic

English Learner Basic Reading http://www.englishlearner.com/tests/beginner_reading_1.shtml
 

Intermediate

English Learner Intermediate Reading Test http://www.englishlearner.com/tests/intermediate_reading_test_1.shtml
English 2 Go - http://www.rdenglish.com/newE2G/index.jsp?idPais=mx&target=home
English Learner Upper Intermediate http://www.englishlearner.com/tests/mermaid.html
Mad Libs on the Web http://us.penguingroup.com/static/packages/us/yreaders/madlibs/fun.html

Advanced

 
 

Multi-level

The English Page-Reading Room http://www.englishpage.com/readingroom/readingroomintro.html
 

Research

Google Scholar http://scholar.google.com/
Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page
Yahooligans-The Web Guide for Kids http://yahooligans.yahoo.com/

Role-Playing Games

Fairyland - Download Page http://www.1010game.com/asp/downloadpage.asp
Everquest http://eqplayers.station.sony.com/index.vm
Hidden World http://www.hiddenworld.com/
Runescape http://www.runescape.com/
Altarion http://www.altarion.com/
FASCO (Crimson Room, Viridian Room, Blue Room and White Chamber) http://www.fasco-csc.com/index_e.php
Quest http://www.questrpg.org/
Avalon http://www.avalon-rpg.com/
Cybertown www.cybertown.com
Tildruin http://www.tildruin.com/

Teacher Resources

ESL Teaching Resources Blog http://esl-teaching-resources.blogspot.com/
The English Page http://www.englishpage.com/
Internet TESL Journal http://www.aitech.ac.jp/~iteslj/
BBC Learning English http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/learningenglish/newsenglish/index.shtml
ESL Cafe Idea Cookbook http://www.eslcafe.com/ideas/index.html
Approaches to Grammar Teaching http://www.onestopenglish.com/section.asp?sectionType=listsummary&catid=58110
ESL Partyland - Teachers http://www.eslpartyland.com/teachers/Tinitial.htm
Lesson Share http://www.onestopenglish.com/section.asp?sectionType=listsummary&catid=58129
Reuter's English to Go http://www.english-to-go.com/
Inside Out's Web Site http://www.insideout.net/e-lessons.htm
The ESL Reading and Writing Forum http://www.eslweb.org/resources/
Office of English Language Programs http://exchanges.state.gov/education/engteaching/
Forum Electronic Journals (for content-based instruction) http://exchanges.state.gov/forum/journal/
Office of English Language Programs Publications http://exchanges.state.gov/education/engteaching/pubs/
Biblioteca Benjamin Franklin -Enseñanza del Ingles http://www.usembassy-mexico.gov/bbf/bfingles.htm

Text and Voice Chat

Text Chat

1-Language http://www.1-language.com/chat/index.htm
Espanglishchat Bilingual Chat http://espanglishchat.com/
Where Are You Now? http://www.wayn.com/
ESL Cafe Chat http://host8.123flashchat.com/eslcafe/
ESL Club http://www.englishclub.com/esl-clubhouse.htm

Voice Chat

Friends Without Borders http://www.cyber-courier.com/cer/japan/forum/viewforum.php?f=3
forum for people looking for chat partners on Skype!!
Yahoo Voice Chat http://beta.messenger.yahoo.com/download.php
My Language Exchange (links to Voice Chat Programs) http://www.mylanguageexchange.com/VoiceChat.asp

TOEFL Practice

One Stop English TOEFL http://www.onestopenglish.com/section.asp?sectionType=listsummary&catid=58086
TOEFL Basic Skills Daily Quiz http://www.gettoefl.com/cgi-bin/daily/daily.pl

Vocabulary

English 2 Go - http://www.rdenglish.com/newE2G/index.jsp?idPais=mx&target=home (scroll down and click on "Word Power" icon on left hand side)

Writing and Composition/Rhetoric

Advanced Composition for Non-Native Speakers of English http://eslbee.com/
APA Citation http://www.apastyle.org/
Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) http://owl.english.purdue.edu/workshops/pp/index.html

Comprehensive Sites

Reuter's English to Go http://www.english-to-go.com/
Better English http://www.better-english.com/
E. L. Easton http://eleaston.com/ (click on "English" tab)
English Page http://www.englishpage.com/